When they say carry a smile, you need it!

Posted on Updated on

Having New Year’s resolutions is different from fulfilling them. Let me take you on a journey of the greatest resolution for 2020. Investing in adrenaline experiences, travel more, meet new people and do more challenges was one of the resolutions I made.

So yeah, Mountain slayers Uganda a group of people who love to slay all mountains, forests, islands, rocks and whatever as long as it has walking and climbed in it. I came across a poster with Semiliki Slay and oh my excitement kicked me, called my partner-in-hiking we paid up and got ready for the hike.

IMG_20200201_182935
Female Hot springs

I hiked the Tororo rock as my first hike and it was so glorious so again I thought to myself Elgon is next, I slew Mount Elgon 4000m above sea level, it was hard huh but I came down healthy happy and an accomplished human.

So yeah your guess is right as mine, Semiliki is easy only 25kms and only 5 hills, I was excited to show off my hiking skills. Hiking has no skill at all.

One lady called Sarah urged us to carry happy faces, souls and good attitude; (you will know why we needed them so bad).

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-04 at 12.40.07 PM
The ride and rider safe and reliable

Just a brief background Semiliki National Park is located in Ntoroko district dominated by Bwamba farmers, Bakonjo, Batuku and Batwa and sprawls across the Semliki Valley with sights of River Semliki that borders DR Congo and Uganda. The park contains special features; mountains, hills and oh the male and female hot springs that boil up to 120 degrees.

IMG_20200201_133308

Going on a hike with new people is as tricky as you may think mostly with caution to carry a smile and good vibes. Signed up for work leave, packed my bags, did all necessary shopping and for the first time, I was punctual at the meeting place hehe.

Arrived a bit late, pitched our tent, had dinner and off to bed to get ready for the next day. But of course, rumors were all over how the trip had balokole and prayerful girls who went straight to bed without enjoying the campfire stories and events. As the morning approached I was more than ready to conquer all the hills and distance.

 

Dressed up with a wide smile ready to slay the hills I was told as I was updating my online friends how they needed to pray for me huh. Your guess is right as mine, breakfast was not heavy and of course, the enzymes had to complain a bit but as strong as an African you have to move.

At the foot of Kyamutema hill where the whole suicide started from, we were told all the tales and one unique tale that caught my attention was the Nyamitoto hill that used to produce a spear every year and one hunter would get it to go hunting. The myth of how the spear appeared and disappeared I can’t tell. Another one is Nyamustwa hill that is governed by the Royal Kingdom of Rwenzururu and it has a Small Lake on top of which can only be viewed by lucky people, whoever determines the luck God knows.

IMG_20200201_134645
An overview of Kaleyaleya Hill that stretched our toes

 

We believed all these tales. The first climbing was smooth until we couldn’t find the flat land to rest the feet. First 10 minutes seemed like a full day on the hill. As if that wasn’t enough altitude sickness kicked in and oh God that’s followed by vomiting and dizziness again we were told to hydrate but that couldn’t work.

As I used to brag that I don’t sweat, hooo I had a full river of sweat dripping down every pore on my body, shirt wet, pants wet and that’s when I knew it’s real and the 25kms were a scam.

I normally love to sing while doing the hardest stuff and oh yes I tuned on my vocals with my partner-in-hike songs failed me and I was wondering how on earth did I get myself on that hill. Couldn’t I have stayed at camp read a novel or watched my series! All this was a myth I was halfway the unending steep.

IMG_20200201_135304
This is me thinking why I had to climb that Hill

 

Kaleyaleya Hill was the fourth to be conquered but it broke all the brake pads in my legs. Full of rocks, steep slope that saw many go down on their buttocks, bushes, and plantations so basically if you got stuck you just call your ancestors or emergency contact.

I don’t curse but I learned some few words to curse creation and curse Sarah too because she got us in the ugly nasty situation. Until at one point when I saw the end of the tarmac and this was the main trading center. As I thought that’s it, it dawned on me that it’s the last hill we had to cover, Mukonjo Mountain, at this moment whatever was the myth behind the hill I couldn’t grasp anything my heart was in the toes and thighs pumping blood faster.

Reverse sloping wasn’t helpful, sideway sloping not either, buttocks worked for some few minutes, forward was harder because the toes were asking for some rest. But every time I looked back I decided not to give of course I can’t embarrass my whole clan.

The only motivation I had was seeing the bubbling hot springs; I held onto every pain and story from the hike until I made it to the hot springs. It was amazing to see nature and how hot water can just be there without people in it; I honestly needed a hot bath.

More and more tales of course of how a woman lost her child and when she went looking she found hot water bubbling up and when the village gathered they saw and named it the female hot spring. The male hot springs are just a few meters and as we walked there my brain had stopped thinking and listening so I don’t know how the male hot springs came about.

Accomplishing a hike is the most orgasmic feeling ever, you push yourself not to give up, connect with nature, connect with people around you, learn about the culture of locals and oh the breathtaking views of mountains, hills, valleys, and the green.

Ask me if I can go back, heck yeah! I would go back on the next one but I will carry excess smiles because my smiles helped a lot.

Mountain Slayers Uganda keep doing what you are doing as long as you don’t slay Kololo Hill. Sarah Jean thank you for giving me a new walking style and I had to explain to people who were asking me what took me there.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-04 at 12.36.35 PM
Mountain Slayers team at the view point

 

 

Leave a comment